My Bucket List: Part 1

A couple weeks ago my friends and I had a movie night and decided to watch The Bucket List. I’m sure the concept of a bucket list isn’t new to many of you – it’s a list of things you want to do before you kick the bucket.

After watching the movie, I got to thinking about my bucket list. When I was in high school, I was big into making lists (and..okay..maybe I still am), so I remember writing a bucket list in a random notebook. I thought about the things I had written down, and what I would write now.

And I realized something. Rather than looking at a bucket list I made and realizing there were actually pretty big items I crossed off of it, I was focusing on what I want to add to my bucket list now. I wasn’t having a balance of making plans and dreams while being grateful for what I have already done and accomplished.

Thus – the inspiration for a two part blog post all about bucket lists! My best friend got me a “Bucket List” notebook and I am eager to reflect on my post and then go fill that notebook up.


 

Part One: What I’ve Crossed Off My List

Degree

My Degree

Society makes it seem as if getting a degree is expected, and so almost as if it should be easy. There was a time in my life when I was unbelievably terrified that I might not be able to have that opportunity. College comes with a big, hefty bill attached to it. My family and I weren’t as well of as others and if I wanted to go to college, it wasn’t going to be as easy as dipping into an account or being able to sign off on some private loans.

With the right guidance and hard work, I was able to receive several grants and scholarships that not only put me through school, but gave me enough funds to truly take advantage of every opportunity my college had to offer (like joining a sorority!). It wasn’t easy or simple to get these though..I mean I was literally crying my schools financial aid office in tears one month before I was supposed to be moving in. And truth be told, my bill still wasn’t even paid during the first half of my first semester. So that semester was undoubtedly stressful knowing that something I enjoyed so much could be temporary.

But if you reach out and really work hard, you truly can do anything. I know that sounds cliche, but I never dreamed I would have been able to attend college. My time at Penn State Behrend was the best, most life altering years of my life. I can’t imagine myself without that experience. Receiving my diploma from Penn State Behrend was my greatest accomplishment this far, and this is probably my proudest thing to check off of my bucket list.

 

Seeing Taylor Swift & Paramore Live 

1989 TourIf you know me, you know I love music. My favorite musicians since 7th grade have been Taylor Swift and Paramore. Their music got me through some hard times (Get it, cause that’s the latest Paramore single? Okay, I’ll go back and crawl in my hole now…)

Anywho, it was always a dream to see them perform live. Well, as of October 2017 this will officially be checked off my list! I was #blessed enough to see Taylor Swift’s 1989 World Tour in Pittsburgh, PA in June 2015. If you saw how magical that show was, you would understand why the hashtag is necessary. And recently my best friend and I bought tickets to a Paramore show in Ohio. Tears will be real. I am so excited to see these artists perform their songs that have helped shape me and carry me through life’s moments.

Travel

This is pretty vague. I definitely has some places that I specifically want to go to, and some of the specifics even make this mention (*ahem* NYC *ahem*). But I wanted to capture that I really just want to travel to all sorts of different places and so any chance to go anywhere new is something I will be thankful for. Traveling is just a big ‘Yes, please!’ for me. So here are some of the places I’ve been able to see!

 

DisneyDisney World

In high school, my best friend invited me to go to Disney World with her family – twice. Disney is just as perfect and magical as you would think. It legitimately is a place where dreams are palpable and your childhood awakens in the most precious way.

 

 

New York City

My college sponsored a bus trip to NYC in December so a group of my closest and my friends woke up at dawn, waited in line to get tickets, and it was worth every ounce of sleep we had to miss out on (and also the $25 for the ticket). My friends and I spent a ton of money shopping, explored Times Square and Central Park, and even got a billboard in Times Square. We only had one day to explore the city, but it was nothing less than amazing – especially since it was around Christmas and the weather was definitely in our favor.

Indianapolis Indy

I actually went to Indy to attend an Officer Academy for my sorority. I didn’t expect to fall in love with the atmosphere. It was an awesome city and I even considered living there someday. Sometimes I still think I might head back, but I know that there are way too many other places I haven’t seen yet.

Leave a Reply

