Dear Old Alpha Sigma Tau

If anybody even remotely knows me, they know that I’m a member of Alpha Sigma Tau – and that I am incredibly passionate about this organization. I received a bid from Alpha Sigma Tau in the Fall of 2013, just a few weeks into my freshman year. Which means I don’t really know much of my college experience without Alpha Sigma Tau and for that, I am grateful.

This past weekend I became an alumnae member of AST. I knew it would be an emotional experience, but I guess I didn’t truly know just how much it would affect me. I wanted to sit down and take the time to detail what my time in AST meant to me and what it will continue to mean for me throughout my entire lifetime.

1

As a member of Alpha Sigma Tau, I believe in the permanence and loveliness of it’s ideals

Sororities are values-based organizations. AST has five core values that it strives to live by. Our values are connections, graciousness, respect, intellect, and excellence. Joining AST gave my thousands of lifelong connections and friendships that have shaped my character – from meeting our alumnae at our national convention (shout out to Joell!), to meeting alumnae who have made a career out of AST (shout out to Justina!), to the best friends I’ve created who I know will be standing beside me at my wedding one day. It taught me how to treat every single individual with kindness, sincerity, and a mutual respect. It inspired me to continue learning something new every day, especially things that may challenge me. It motivates me to go above any expectations and to strive to excel in whatever I set my mind too. These are values that cannot be shaken. They are forever instilled in who I am, which is a major reason why I got an anchor tattoo on my wrist to symbolize the permanence of these ideals.

2

I believe in the values of friendship and fidelity to purpose

As I said before, AST gave me my forever friends. It sounds cliche, but when you meet people who value all of the same things you do…well…that’s pretty remarkable. It was my sister who was with me when I dropped nursing courses as a freshman and freaked out because I had no idea what I was doing. It was my sister who was with me when I was crying at two am after hearing terrible news. It was my sister who reminded me I was never alone at a time when it felt the complete opposite. It was my sisters who helped me ‘find my new dreams’ (Tangled reference (; ), and it was my sisters who hold so many funny, heartwarming, and valuable moments in my heart.

AST allowed me to find a purpose, and I believe that my purpose is to try to be good to people. Since joining AST, I’ve become a confident and successful woman. People have told me that they look up to me, and I’ve been astounded. I was saying those words to the women in my chapter as a freshman and sophomore myself.

3.jpg

I believe in the fulfillment of self and will strive to contribute my share to progress of mankind

Fulfillment of self – this is a big one for me. To be truly fulfilled with life is when you achieve what you want out of life. I honestly don’t think you can ever be truly fulfilled. You will constantly keep pursuing new things. I don’t consider this a negative thing. To me, I see it was incredible for a person to keep pursuing new things and to keep pursuing that ‘fulfillment of self.’ This idea is what has inspired me to run for positions in other organizations, to go out to internships, to take trips to new places, to try something even if it’s scary.

Contribute my share to the progress of mankind – giving back in important. Alpha Sigma Tau taught me how incredible it can be when humans impact each others lives for the better. Knowing this has allowed me to live my best life possible and the idea behind this inspires me to keep looking for new ways to give back.

4

I believe in cultivating beauty of spirit and graciousness of living in all my contacts with others

I’ve said it before but becoming a sister of Alpha Sigma Tau allowed me to gain insight on what it means to live a better life. The sisters before me treated me with such kindness and always believed in my abilities. They were my sources of inspiration and all I did. I think it is life changing when you surround yourself with people who all want the absolute best for each other.

5.jpg

I believe that faithfulness to these ideals will help me to live joyously and valiantly

Thank you, Alpha Sigma Tau, for teaching me how to love and how to live with purpose and meaning. Thank you for changing me for good, forever.

One thought on “Dear Old Alpha Sigma Tau

Leave a Reply

